|Depot to host open house and groundbreaking|
The Monon Railroad ceased to exist 40 years ago when it merged into the Louisville & Nashville system, but Monon trains continue to operate today as they traverse the miniature towns of Salem, Pekin and Campbellsburg in the basement of the John Hay Center’s Depot railroad museum.
The museum is observing its 11th anniversary with an open house Saturday and Sunday, June 9 and 10, The event is in conjunction with the Peacemakers Quilt Guild show which is taking place at the John Hay Center’s Stevens Memorial Museum.
Open house hours for The Depot are 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday and Noon to 4 p.m. Sunday.
At 11 a.m. Saturday, there will be groundbreaking ceremony for a two-story, 3,000 square foot addition to The Depot. The addition will provide space for the Monon Railroad Historical Society to move its world headquarters to Salem.
Mayor David Bower and representatives of the Washington County and Monon historical societies will be in attendance to toss the first shovels full of dirt.
The HO scale model in the basement depicts the county’s three towns as they were 60 years ago. All buildings on the model have been constructed by Depot volunteers and are exact replicas of buildings that existed between 1957 and 1964. The model showcases thousands of hours of building and detailing by volunteers.
Four Monon trains operate on the single track main line, passing each other at various points on the model.
In addition to the model trains, visitors to the museum will be able to tour a 1929 Monon caboose, view displays of railroad artifacts and toy trains, visit the gift shop and enjoy refreshments.
|Last Updated on Tuesday, 05 June 2012 14:53|